Social Studies Department


Social Studies Faculty

Kenneth Abrams kabrams@scituateri.net
Patricia Charland pcharland@scituateri.net
Darren Chisnell dchisnell@scituateri.net
Margie Clyde mclyde@scituateri.net
Jonathan Dunne jdunne@scituateri.net
Anita Hall ahall@scituateri.net
Elizabeth Keough ekeough@scituateri.net
Deborah LaTour dlatour@scituateri.net
Christine McCarthy cmccarthy@scituateri.net
Paula Sullivan psullivan@scituateri.net

Course Descriptions

Grade 6- Ancient History and Culture

This course is required for Grade 6 students. It is a survey of ancient culture with an emphasis on Egyptian, Greek and Roman societies. Students study the foundations of democracy and culture while making connections to the modern world.

Through our course offerings, all students are actively engaged in learning and developing skills in literacy, critical thinking, persuasive writing and informed citizenship.

The content of this course aligns with state and national Social Studies Standards, Common Core and the RI Civics Grade Span Expectations.



Grade 7- World Geography and Culture

This course is required for Grade 7 students. It is a survey of world geography and culture with an emphasis on American geography, history, and government. Students study cultural regions of the world and concepts such as global awareness, conflict and cooperation, interdependency and current events. The ten themes of Social Studies as developed by the National Council for the Social Studies are reflected in the curriculum.

Through our course offerings, all students are actively engaged in learning and developing skills in literacy, critical thinking, persuasive writing and informed citizenship.

The content of this course aligns with state and national Social Studies Standards, Common Core and the RI Civics Grade Span Expectations.



Grade 8- Anerican History and Civics

This course is required for Grade 8 students. It is a survey of American history from the Age of Exploration through the Revolutionary War. Students study the political, social, economic and cultural aspects of American history. The course also covers American government, the founding documents and citizenship.

Through our course offerings, all students are actively engaged in learning and developing skills in literacy, critical thinking, persuasive writing and informed citizenship.

The content of this course aligns with state and national Social Studies standards, Common Core and the RI Civics Grade Span Expectations.